Wk 14- Art Activity- Japanese Gardens

It was a beautiful Wednesday afternoon to spend in the Japanese Gardens on campus. Admittedly, in my four years at Cal State Long Beach, I had only been once. This time was much different. I took a seat in the shade by the pond, and began to sketch. I’m not the best artist, and having not drawn in a while, my sketches really weren’t that great.  The 10 30-sec sketches helped me to warm up, and by the 5 minute representational sketch I was ready. For the representational drawing (shown below in the third picture), I drew the pond and the gazebo area over it with the umbrella. I found this art activity to be very soothing– It was nice to be able to take a pause between classes and look at some beautiful plants and views.

Leave a Reply

