Wk 15- Art Activity- Design Your Life

  1. The thing you currently think you’ll be doing with your life

I think I’ll end up traveling a bit, discovering what I actually enjoy doing. I think it’s going to be a bit of a process before I settle into a specific job. Eden’s presentation got me thinking more about becoming an entrepreneur and building my brand. I think that’s what I’ll end up doing.

2. The thing you would do if the current thing disappeared tomorrow

I don’t really understand this. If what disappeared tomorrow? The security of knowing what I want to do? Well the good thing is I’m not certain what I want to do so nothing can disappear! If for some reason I couldn’t go to Italy, and was forced to be here, I would find an internship or job immediately. 

3. The thing you would do if you were financially secure, and no one would ever laugh, go ahead, what would it be?

I would travel and eat my way through Italy. I would use the money I had to experience small towns and big cities. I would take pictures of it all and blog about it and feel the happiest I’ve ever felt. It would be all about the experiences rather than making money.

For the first scenario, my five year plan is a bit hazy.  It would probably go a little like this though:

Year 1: move to Italy, take business/tourism/hospitality course, work on website, network and make friends, make art

Year 2: continue building brand, advertise to american tourists through site

Year 3: get married, move to a bigger place, continue working on brand

Year 4: work less but still promote brand, travel more with spouse, maybe start family?

Year 5: move to a different part of Italy, buy a house, work on family

For the second scenario, it makes me so sad to even think about. I’ve constructed this idea of how my life in Italy is going to go, and honestly, if for some reason it couldn’t happen, I’d be devastated. 

Year 1: find internship at the port of LA/Long Beach or somewhere else, try and find a cheap apartment

Year 2: focus on building career, getting promoted, start dating more

Year 3: maybe change apartments, change jobs, or get promoted, get married

Year 4-5: work and hopefully be happy at the job

The third scenario is a bit out there, because I don’t know how I’d be making money. I suppose that’s the point of the exercise though. 

Year 1: buy one way ticket to Italy, travel relentlessly and get morbidly obese

Year 2: write about experiences on blog, meet like-minded people

Year 3: find a city that I love and move there, get married?, open restaurant?

Year 4: work on restaurant, family

Year 5: settle down with husband and kids and be a stay at home mom

Rapid Prototyping breakdown:

I’ve always felt the usefulness of Linkedin. It’s such great place to network from the comfort of your own home. In order for me to pursue a freelance career in Italy, I need to find the right people. I will try and find ex-pats on this site, Facebook, and just browsing the internet. Florence is a hub for americans, so I don’t see myself running into any problems with networking. I see myself meeting these people for espresso and talking business (even if I don’t know exactly what business yet). It’s very difficult for me to actualize this as I’m not there. I’m still in this perpetual limbo. Until I actually get there, there is not much I can do other than work on my website.

Leave a Reply

